bilim madalyasi aydogan ozcan
The “Koç University Rahmi M. Koç Medal of Science” recognizes the achievements of the most promising minds of our nation, exceptional individuals of Turkish origin under the age of 50 who have shown outstanding success and significant progress in their field. The recipient is chosen by a special panel of academic experts, and will be bestowed in alternating years in the fields of “Science, Engineering, and Health Sciences” and “Administrative, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law”.

Working as a professor at the University of California (Los Angeles) and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Aydoğan Özcan directs the Bio and Nano-Photopics Lab at the University of California Faculty of Engineering, and works as co-director of the California NanoSystems Institute. Prof. Özcan has 33 published patents and more than 20 pending patent applications, as well as a book and more than 450 papers in leading peer-reviewed journals and conferences.

Prof. Özcan is a member of the the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE), American Optical Society (OSA) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and has been awarded many prestigious awards for his outstanding work in computational imaging, sensing and diagnosis, among which are the “US Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers”, “International Commission for Optics Prize”, “Photonics Society Early Career Achievement Award”, “Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award”, “Army Young Investigator Award”, “NSF CAREER Award”, “NIH Director’s New Innovator”, “Navy Young Investigator”, “IEEE Photonics Society Young Researcher Award”, “National Geographic Emerging Explorer”, “National Academy of Engineering, Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award ” and the “MIT Innovators Under 35 Award”.


Koç University Rahmi M. Koç Medal Of Science
Selection Committee

Chaired by Koç University President Prof. Umran İnan, the Selection Committee included individuals from very prominent institutions around the globe; Prof. Gokhan Hotamisligil (Harvard University), Prof. Ilhan Fuat Akyildiz (Georgia Institute of Technology), Prof. Ali Erdemir (Argonne National Laboratory), Prof. Atac Imamoglu (ETH Zurich)